If you have deleted a Category from your Category Manager, it hasn't actually been deleted entirely from your Joomla! site. Joomla! keeps these deleted Categories just in case there are any published Articles that are saved inside the Category. You can actually restore and publish that Category again, or you can delete it completely from your site. This article explains how to delete or publish a trashed Category.